Supporting Innovation in Pharmacy for a Healthier Canada

Kudos to the 2020 Wellspring Award winners

August 2020 - The Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy is pleased to announce this year's recipients of the Wellspring Pharmacy Leadership Awards: pharmacists Rui Su and Kerry Wilbur.

In light of restrictions with COVID-19, this year's recipients will be honoured via a virtual event. Check back for details to come.

Rui Su, PharmD, RPh


Rui is a Toronto-based pharmacist and co-founder of MedMe Health, a digital pharmacy care platform that leverages the clinical expertise of pharmacists to provide timely patient care.

The Wellspring Award grant will support her in developing a CCCEP-accredited course that introduces terminology, trends, guidelines and practical considerations for digital health and virtual care applications in pharmacy. The goal is to create a comprehensive resource for pharmacists to better understand the vocabulary, impact and challenges of digital health for pharmacy practice now and into the future.

This CE will expand on the 2019 program also funded by CFP, which focused on only one digital health tool.



Kerry Wilbur


Kerry is Executive Director, Entry-To-Practice Education and an associate professor at the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver.

Funding from the Wellspring Award will help support a pilot project to explore what patients think of patient care received from pharmacy students at an ambulatory clinic. The ultimate goal is to use patient feedback to develop future pharmacy student workplace-based assessments and help inform training and competency development for the future.